33

I am driving. I’m on an unfamiliar country road with no plan, no destination. My heart is broken. I cannot listen to the radio and all my thoughts are prayers. I stare through the windshield looking for signs. The days are cooling now and the leaves are starting to turn. The sky is growing darker. A beautiful day for loneliness and photographs. And then it starts to rain. Lightly. That soft sprinkle that hardly warrants the wipers. Where am I going? That’s when I see the car, tucked deep down a hidden driveway with a bright chrome grill that’s as sweet as a stranger’s smile. The rain becomes steadier and I know there’s not much time. Three minutes with the camera at most. I circle her like she’s a fashion model, capturing this beauty from as many angles as I can. I dash back to my car.

There’s no doubt about it. She is a masterpiece of Detroit Iron. I can go on and on about her curves and chrome. Her Michigan mystique. As a car she is a wonder. As a form she was a true find. But only later, weeks later, do I recognize what it is I see. The meaning behind the car. The license plate. The tag. Read it. 7AAE865. Turn it into math. Make it into a formula. Numerology. Symbol. Synchronicity.

7+ (A)1+(A)1+E(5)+8+6+5 = 33.

The divine name Elohim appears 33 times in the story of creation in the opening chapters of Genesis. Lag Ba’omer is a Jewish holiday falling on the 33rd day of the Omer. Jesus’s age when he was crucified in 33 A.D. was 33. According to Al-Ghazali the dwellers of Heaven will exist eternally in a state of being age 33. Jesus performed 33 recorded miracles. Islamic prayer beads are generally arranged in sets of 33, corresponding to the widespread use of this number in dhikr rituals. 33 is not only a numerical representation of “the Star of David,” but also the numerical equivalent of AMEN: 1+13+5+14=33. 33 is the highest degree in the Scottish Rite of Freemasonry. A religious image of the Virgin Mary from the 18th century is known in Uruguay as “Virgen de los Treinta y Tres” (Virgin of the Thirty-Three). Number 33 is a Master Number and resonates with the energies of compassion, blessings, inspiration, honesty, discipline, bravery and courage.  33 tells us that ‘all things are possible’.  33 is also the number that symbolizes ‘guidance’.  The Angel Number 33 is a message from your angels that any positive changes or projects you are considering right now will be well worth your while, and you will be assisted in the under taking. King David reigned for 33 years in Jerusalem. In Buddhism, Kuan Yin assumes 33 different physical appearances. In his Divine Comedy, Dante attributed 33 songs to the Purgatory and 33 songs to the Sky. 33 is the total number of vertebrae of the spinal column of the human body, in which pass 33 pairs of nervous groups.

I see the car. I don’t see the sign. I see the form. I don’t see the spirit behind it. I see. That’s the problem. Seeing, seeing, seeing. Sight, sight, sight, sight. Look here, look there. Hunt, peck, search. It’s all right here friend. It’s right in front of your eyes. This is what mouse energy teaches us. Meekness. Pay attention to the now.

o O o

11 thoughts on “33

    • In the Now there is no broken heart. The Now is permanent and forever, only what we attach to the Now is transitory. I can mourn my loss, I can be sad, but through surrender I can detach from the ego part of it, which distorts the feeling of suffering to bolster itself. I can let go of that part of my heart that seeks to own, to hold, to control. What’s left is just the love. Thank you for clarifying this for me Daniel.

      • I just asked the question. You clarified. Lots of different directions in your post. Almost got whiplash. Thought provoking though, and I enjoyed it. Great picture.

        I didn’t comment on Yorick but I enjoyed it also. Old William would have been proud.

        Boy Scout was sad for me because I’ve seen the ruin too many times myself. I could have been him, but the love of my life and my parent’s expectations probably saved me (none of them knew it).

    • Why should that embarrass you? I am often inspired by the work of others, so really it’s just a spark being passed on. I’m happy I can help. Writing is difficult and we all need help staying on the path. Thank you for leaving a response.

  1. Did you ever watch the rebooted Battlestar Galactica series? The first episode was called “33”. In trying to escape the Cylons, the ship had to jump every 33 minutes because every time they landed in a new location, the Cylons would find them. I know that’s not very poetic, but you have a great 33 list……..I humbly contribute a science fiction show that subtly wove a lot of Kabbalistic and Zodiacal, Greek Pantheon and Biblical elements into it. Namaste.

Reaction? Feedback? Express yourself.

