The Other Side Land

It was as if he wore a special kind of glasses like the ones in the back of the comic books with the kid who can see through dresses except this wasn’t the same at all. There was nothing to look through, no physical barrier between him and the other side. They were there. They were always there. Hiding in plain sight. Portals, he sometimes called them, though he could never get his body to pass through. And he tried. He would feel blindly for some secret switch, with his fingers, grasping and probing the trunks of certain trees or in the crevices of boulders, hoping to unlock a passageway to the other side. But they would never open. They remained as he had found them, oddly alive, glowing with an aura that signified some hallowed quality he could feel with his entire being. A magnetic pull. A gravitational twinge. Something quantum, a Higgs field anomoly. He was like a song bird out over the ocean. Somehow he just knew where to head. He was like a honeybee who could see a whole new spectrum of color. He’d be out walking in the woods or in some meadow when suddenly he’d happen upon one of them. A numen, is what the old man later called them. A divine spirit trapped within a thing. A place. Sometimes there was no focal object. Sometimes there was just this gut-wrenching sense of elation, or dread. The haunted world. So much that goes unseen. The eyes of the body are just the tapping cane of the old blind soul, hurtling through the vacuum of time until the moments are undone and all the particles rejoin. Communion. That’s what he thought the numens might be saying. These were the waypoints on the journey back home. Remember. A mirror’s just a pane of glass coated with aluminum dust. Scrape off the coating and you can see clear through to the other side. Maybe that’s what they were. Another way of seeing a reflection. Mirrors. And that feeling was the pang of recognition, like a face you see for a flashing second standing on the subway platform as your train rolls through. But he could see them all the time and everywhere. Ghosts. Only they’re the ones who are living and we’re the ones who are dead. What do you call that? When the dead are haunted by the living? What word do the dead use to describe us?

o O o

42 thoughts on “The Other Side Land

  1. I don’t even know where to start but this might be my favourite bit “The eyes of the body are just the tapping cane of the old blind soul, hurtling through the vacuum of time…” There so many startling and worrying images in this piece. But beautiful too. Gee. I’m just a little conflicted! Nicely done.

  2. I have to like it too. The tree stump deteriorating. The place we go to remember something tall and magnificent. I saw how we see things in a place and time that reflect our own openness and happiness. You talk about something that is unseen and that way of speaking is complemented by the use of terms that are not quite familiar: Portals, switch, crevices, aura, quantum, a Higgs field, numen, Communion, aluminum dust, and waypoints… The picture is enough uncertainty to further grant us passage into something new and never before experienced. Lovely journey.

  3. Beautifully written. It takes your mind on a journey. Thank you for sharing!

    I really enjoyed your blog. I created a new page, Real Life Natural Wife. I hope you’ll come by and leave me a comment with your thoughts on the blog.

    Keep up the good work! Congrats on being freshly pressed.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. This just touched me and it was very lovely. That haunted world you are describing? It’s the one we live in. And the portals exist within each and every one of us! if only we have the confidence to explore!

    Hi! I am just waking up in this life! I want to connect with you! I want to learn about you! I want to create cool and exciting things with you! I want tons of money! I want to travel! I want lots of toys! I want to be a good and nice person! I want to be a good Buddhist and stop wanting to stop wanting things! I want to help the Earth be pure again! I want to live in excitement every single moment! I want the BOOM BOOM CLASH LIFE. I want to be a model! I want to be an actor! I want to have a million views on my wordpress site! I want to meet superheros! I want to ride a zipline from the top of Mt. Everest! Sooooo! Come say hi! Check out my site! YAAAAY:):):)

    • I’ve never received such an enthusiastic response Gapawa. Thank you. I agree with you, the portals exist in every one of us. I’m not sure it’s a matter of confidence but a matter of seeing not through the body’s eyes. I will check out your blog. Feel free to connect with me on Facebook or Instagram or Twitter. I hope your excellent journey continues. BOOM BOOM CLASH LIFE. ~ Vincent

      • I’m not really talking about 3rd eye awareness. Though there may be some correlation to what I’m trying to articulate. I’m talking about ‘seeing’ beyond surfaces, seeing with the spirit, and recognizing that perception via the five senses is limited and misleading. Seeing is not believing. Believing is seeing.

      • Do you think we are being imprisoned in this 3D 5 sense world by energy vampires? That was my first impression once I “woke up”. Wacky as it may sound, there has to be a reason for the absolutely ridiculously way things seem to have come to be!

      • Yes. But WE are the energy vampires. There is a reason for the way things have come to be. And we are that reason. Because we rely on eyesight and believe that we exist separately, inside bodies.

      • Please elaborate on what you know about the situation. For us to do anything about the situation we need to work together and communicate! Thanks for replying to me:) Namaste

      • I cannot elaborate here. It’s too nuanced. If you are truly interested in the concept of how we have deluded ourselves into believing that all of this is real, that we exist as independent entities in bodies enslaved by our senses and the notion of time I would suggest reading A Course in Miracles, which is no light undertaking. If it resonates with you I’d be more than happy to discuss. Not blowing you off, but this is fodder for real conversation not quips traded in online messages. Part of the problem is how compartmentalized we have become. The internet can be a great way of connecting, but once the connection is made what you do with it matters.

      • Yes I am truly interested, it is about all I’m interested in lately. Someone recommended that I throw a tantrum and I am following his advice. I will read the book and get back to you. My email is gapawa1985@gmail.com

        Thank you

        Gary

      • Don’t throw a tantrum. That is the opposite of beneficial. A Course in Miracles is not just a book you simply read. First, it’s well over a 1000 pages. Second, it requires quite a commitment and a readiness. It’s NOT a self-help book. It’s not a religion. It’s not a philosophy. It’s not some person’s point of view or experience. If you plan on reading it and getting back to me. I’ll see you in a year. But you asked me to elaborate and I’m not qualified to do so. The best I can do is steer you to where I was steered in my moment of awakening. I wish you well Gary.

      • One last question, and you may or may not want to answer, what is your religious background? I appreciate that you took the time to respond to me, as a result I’m reading “A Course In Miracles.” By “throwing a tantrum,” I meant stepping outside of my usual soft spoken wallflower self and interacting with the world, exploring the world. Thanks again for your time, take care!

      • Gary, I was raised by non-practicing Catholics. We observed Christmas and Easter. I was taught the Lord’s Prayer and the Hail Mary. I went to church when I was young and received my First Holy Communion. I abandoned the church soon after. I went through a period of Atheism and then Agnosticism. After many years of soul-searching and questions I went on a quest for God and the meaning of life. I wrote a novel called Serpent Box which is about the son of a Holiness Pentecostal snake-handling preacher. Hardcore fundamentalist Christians. I found God later but that’s too complicated for this message. I became a Christian, but not in the sense most people understand. I went through iterations. I don’t subscribe to any dogma or church or branch of faith. I believe in the core messages of Jesus. But I find inspiration in other faiths including Buddhism. I don’t pretend to know any answers or any formula. I am fairly convinced that radical unrelenting forgiveness is the way to salvation and peace and that love is the only currency or energy that’s real. That’s what I strive to practice. I have a long way to go.

      • I was raised Catholic as well, and we practiced the faith, however my Dad essentially took the Bible and Catholicism and created a mashup based on his personal interpretation which he then foisted on the family always packaged as “truth.” I became disillusioned like you did, however I never really latched onto another “thing” like atheism or agnosticism because I saw how dogma is all very similar. It was pretty straightforward to me, the universe exists perfectly, always, all aspects, all iterations. The mind puts a story on top via “alpha bet” this seems to be where the problems start coming in. I never really gave much credence to the idea of a separate creator God. I am communicating quite a bit now, with what I call “the beautiful.” It’s just an act of surrender to that which beats my heart. My life has changed in the past few months because of this surrender. So we are similar it seems. I’m glad to have met you!

        Oh something that made me laugh out loud reading this book: “you can temporize and you are capable of enormous procrastination.” (T-2.III.3.)

        >>the book knows me apparently😳

Reaction? Feedback? Express yourself.

