The Pied-Piper of Kan-Wah-Doo

I met him in a little park in Fairfax, California. Marin County. There’s a mountain here named after a Miwok Indian chief known as Tamalpais, and it presides like a mystic watchman above storied villages where movie stars and rock musicians and tech pioneers dwell among dense hillside stands of Eucalyptus, Bay Laurel and Madrone. Stu was his name, but he later told me he was once known as the Pied Piper of Kan-Wah-Doo.

“I’m a spiritual teacher”, he said. “What I do is I’ll speak to someone and find out how far I can go with them and if they start looking away or say something funny I’ll stop. But I’ll go as far as they let me. Basically I tell people that they are loved. They’re loved by the Divine.”

That’s his message. We’re all part of God. We’re all loved. And you believe it when he tells you that the Garden of Eden is not a place but a state of mind. You hear stories about angels who walk among us in disguise. And I’ve met many in my travels; souls with sunlight beaming through every pore. They seem to come from all walks of life but the one thing they have in common is the look in their eyes. When a man has seen more than his share of death and horror they call it the thousand-yard stare. But people like Stu, they’ve seen the bush aflame on Sinai and their eyes sparkle with the eternal shine of love.

o O o

Reaction? Feedback? Express yourself.

